IEMA launches Sustainability Impact Awards 2020

IEMA has today started accepting entries to its Sustainability Impact Awards 2020 following the success of its inaugural event last year.

IEMA Launches Sustainability Impact Awards 2020

The awards recognise the people and businesses transforming the world to sustainability, showcasing the achievements of organisations striving to tackle the global challenges of the climate and environmental emergency.

This year’s ceremony will be held on 18 September 2020 at The Brewery, London, with the winners benefiting from prestige, a boosted profile and publicity, greater support, recognition of talent, a competitive advantage and new business.

IEMA's interim chief executive, Toby Robins, said: "The opportunity to recognise outstanding sustainability impact last year highlighted to us just how much great practice there is that needs celebrating.

"As the agenda and urgency grow, I know that the 2020 awards will be an even bigger and better showcase for leadership across all sectors."

The afternoon will commence with a dazzling drinks reception at 12:30, followed by a stunning three-course meal made from locally sourced ingredients, before networking and a 17:00 finish.

The individual awards include categories for a future sustainability leader, current sustainability leader, and best volunteer contribution, while the 20 organisation award categories are shown below:

•    Best Team (Small Organisation)
•    Best Team (Large Organisation)
•    Workforce Development
•    Sustainability Campaign (Public Sector)
•    Sustainability Campaign (Private Sector)
•    Sustainability Campaign (Not-For-Profit/Charity)
•    Sustainability Strategy to Achieve Net-Zero
•    Transport and Infrastructure Project
•    Construction Project
•    New Product, Service or Technology
•    Sustainable Organisation
•    Consultancy and Collaboration
•    Innovation in Impact Assessment
•    Circular Economy
•    Biodiversity and Environmental Net Gain
•    Energy and Carbon Transition
•    Climate Resilience and Adaptation
•    Sustainable Procurement
•    Sustainable Finance
•    Community or Social Value

Organisations of all sizes and from all sectors are eligible to enter: from sole traders to multinationals, from private enterprise to public sector and all others in between.

All winners will be featured in extensive coverage of the awards and winning entries in IEMA’s Transform magazine in print and online.

IEMA Impact Awards judging panel chair, Louise Nicholls, said: “We’re excited to receive entries from across the globe that showcase the transformative and inspirational work that is being done by individuals and organisations in the challenge to tackle the climate and environmental emergency."

The deadline for applications is Friday 24 April 2020. More information on how to enter can be found here.


Image credit: IEMA


Chris Seekings is a reporter for TRANSFORM

Back to Top